Big Blue is having majory surgery.

As everyone knows, big blue my desktop went BOOM over a month ago. Since then order a new PSU which arrived DOA! Return that one. Received the second one and couldn’t wait to plug her in. When I did…. All I got was a big fat NOTHING! I did notice that the green light on my motherboard was on. So I start googling the manual for my mb. Well it seems that pretty green led should be the red light of death ! It means my board is in a soft shut down and I have no way to wake it up. So off to newegg I go to order the exact same MB because I love the set up I already have but of course being 2 years old there no way I can find another one. Not even at amazon. SOB, SOB. So I find one that is close to it minus the sli. I don’t game so who cares.

There, there, settled down. I hear all you gamers hissing at me. It is nothing personal, I just don’t need to spend extra money on something I don’t use. I knew you all understand. 🙂

So the motherboard came Tuesday I believe. I had already moved the PSU, and was removing my cards from the case when I noticed my video card compasitors were bowed on top instead of flat. On closer inspection they are not just bowed 4 of the 6 big ones are blowed apart on top. The plastic cover that goes over top of the fan is even cracked open.

At this point I am just ready to sit down and cry because I know I won’t have big blue up and running tonight happily playing in PS. So I’ve order me a video card tonight from ebay.  I got the PNY Verto GeForce 8600 GTS no it is not top of the line, but this one does fit my budget and I am hoping that it is good enough for PS CS3. So hopefully by the end of next week, the drama with my desktop will be over.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170277184887&_trksid=p3907.m32&_trkparms=tab%3DWatching

Until then let me share so other stuff with you. Since last time we spoke, I’ve join NAPP and am now a MOD of Planet Photoshop. NAPP really is a great place with so much to learn there, and I am very happy with how much the Planet Photoshop Forums are shaping up. It is a great free resource and the forums are very people friendly no matter what skill level you are at.

Well it is getting late so I think I shall call it quit for tonight. However, I will be back tomorrow with some good tutorials for you guys to try.

~ by mitzs on November 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
